Update on my family’s situation

CURRENT POST, created June 12th…

Good morning! I am blessed to let you know that the news that I had updated can be revised yet again. When it was written, my family and I had been homeless and living (separately) at a shelter while I got ready to attend the View Points Class. Now, 6 months later, I am so happy to report that I have finished View Points and entered into the Directions phase of the program!

At the end of my classes, I met with the case worker I was assigned, who was to  help me pick a spot to volunteer at, and I was told about Overcomers International Ministry and that they needed someone full time, that they’d have “plenty for me to do”. They never lied! images I have been working here 40 hours a week since I started in March. Since I started, I have been “promoted” to Office Manager and have been blessed with increased responsibility. 

Naturally, the primary hiccup in the saga in which I currently live is that now I’m working full time, I don’t have time to go out on interviews and it’s commonly accepted (here at OIM) that when we get the grant I’ve been charged with directing into existence, I will be hired on the spot. Unfortunately, that doesn’t really help me NOW as my husband and child and I struggle monthly not to be evicted as the money we bring in almost not enough to pay the rent/utilities. My life is all about faith…about trusting that God will get the MONEY we need to stay together and not be homeless. It’s exhausting and emotionally draining, worrying all the time and I struggle with it 99% of the time. 

I need brothers and sisters in the Lord to be praying for me and my family. We need you to intercede for us; to pray for us both as far as our living situation goes but even further than that, pray for Overcomers International Ministry. See, this program’s purpose is to help the down and out; to feed the hungry, start new mothers out in raising their babies, etc. Pray for me…I fit into the category of people that we help and have been there a lot so I have a very intimate knowledge of the suffering involved. I just want to be used by God for I, along with Isaiah so long ago,  have the same prayer- “Here I am, Lord…SEND ME”.  Pass the Baton

FORMER POST, created Jan 15th.

Good afternoon, everyone!

I always like to be able to share good news and I have some to share! Raphael and I went to our appointment with our new DHS case worker and she has proven to be an exemplary example of what the poor need- an actual advocate who’ll work with us. Thanks to God and thanks to her (will withhold her name, though I wish I could share it)!

Last Thursday was our meeting; last FRIDAY I started taking a class at Goodwill in Colorado Springs called ViewPoints. The 2nd half of the program is called Directions and IF I haven’t found employment by then (and I’m looking and applying as is Raphael), I will go be able to target my job search much more thoroughly. It’s good to have advocates because we need to get out of the shelter! None of the people we are “working with” there are helping in any way; merely nickle and diming us with rules and strikes and equally petty crap, not to mention making life harder for Raphael who’s only goal in life is to protect Ish, our son.

Anyway, getting back on track. I want to take this opportunity to say THANK YOU to those who are praying for my family’s situation- we appreciate it so much!!

Tags: , ,

About hijoy

I have been married to my best friend, Raphael for 10 years. I have two children, Karl and Katrina, (released for adoption in 1999, now 19 and 15, respectively) and Ishaq Shalom, 5 deceased as of July 8, 2014. I am 41 years old. I am a published author, View from Within the Spirit is my first book. In addition, I am a volunteer as well as a blogger and cannabis proponent. I look forward to getting to know you and pray that I make an impact in your life as well.

Leave a Reply

