S.U.P.E.R.N.A.T.U.R.A.L

Viewfromwithinthespirit

season 1

Way back in 2005, A television show came on that basically changed my life. It was called Supernatural and it was a show about two brothers, trained by their father, John Winchester, who travel across the United States killing demons, windigos, shape shifters, etc.  Yeah, sounds weird, right? But you know what? The actors were sensational, the story line compelling and I was like a bug being drawn to a lamp post – only in a non destructive way. No- this show was spiritual to me from the get-go.

Winchesterfamily

The brothers,  Dean and Sam Winchester, played by Jensen Ackles and Jared Padalecki, will stop at nothing to keep each other safe. Life has handed them a curse- their mother killed on the ceiling of their house; later Sammy’s girlfriend is killed in the same way. The culprit? Azazel the demon, then called “the yellow eyed demon”.

Supernatural-S02-Ep22-Yellow-Eyed-Demon

For the last 8 years, I have been watching this show. I think about it constantly. I reference it, meditate on it, add the pictures to my phone and desktop. Yeah- addicted I most definitely am.

416452_1270828027277_full

I’ve struggled a little bit with this. We who serve God are not to have idols before us. To make sure I haven’t done this, I’ve made sure I’m connected with my Father. Some people might not think it’s a big deal- I’m not one of them. I love God. I love my brother, Yeshua. Though I don’t have to prove it to anyone, I want it said right out. We, who are human, have a million ways of justifying ourselves, our choices, ect. I try hard not to do that because we’re supposed to be more honest than that. God knows…MADE…our hearts and He is fully aware of what we do, how we do it, why we do it. As a result of being aware of this, I do my best to be faithful and true, though I slip all the time.

I want to lay out, as best as I can, what I love about this show and why it’s so…SPIRITUAL for me and I’m going to let them do it for me:

This scene made the hair stand up on my head:

This scene made me sob, because as the Bible says, “Greater love has no man than this…”

This scene made me cry because Dean reaps the consequences of a deal he struck:

This scene gave me hope because the story could now continue (very closely related to first scene mentioned)

***What I’ve added isn’t even the TIP of the iceberg where this fabulous story is concerned. Sammy getting addicted to demon blood, an unknown brother popping in- and out- of their lives, secrets,  mysteries, HUMOR (OMGosh this show is hilarious!), sadness, joy. As Season 9 approaches, I pray that it continues the way it’s gone for 8 seasons. Some of the content I’ve agreed with, some I have not. I have my own faith; I guess what speaks to me the loudest is that they aren’t afraid to go “there”. Demons, creatures that go bump in the night. Enochian books and letters. Angels assisting them in a totally righteous endeavor even if they fall apart and get back up. 

johnwinchester-2  SPN-supernatural-34649329-1280-800  Between Heaven and Earth Dean 2  Dean 3  Dean adn Sam Dean  My darling boys  Sam and Dean -Sam-and-Dean-the-winchesters-30653444-750-600

Tags: , , , ,

About hijoy

I have been married to my best friend, Raphael for 10 years. I have two children, Karl and Katrina, (released for adoption in 1999, now 19 and 15, respectively) and Ishaq Shalom, 5 deceased as of July 8, 2014. I am 41 years old. I am a published author, View from Within the Spirit is my first book. In addition, I am a volunteer as well as a blogger and cannabis proponent. I look forward to getting to know you and pray that I make an impact in your life as well.

Leave a Reply

